Unlock MY HERO ACADEMIA mastery seamlessly! Begin with this free video tutorial for a swift grasp. Delve into detailed gameplay instructions down below for comprehensive guidance.

Master My Hero Academia: Rise as a Hero

Basic Rules

MHA CCG: Playmat

The game is played in three stages: the Start Phase, the Combat Phase with the attack sequence, and the End Phase. The End Phase is just ending your turn. You will spend most of the game in the Combat Phase.

The phases of the game run as follows:

  1. Start Phase
      • Uncommit
      • Draw Cards 
  2. Combat Phase
      • Play Cards, Perform Checks
      • If Attacking
          • Enhance Step
          • Block Step
          • Deal Damage
  3. End Phase
      • Clear Card Pool

The game functions off two major zones, the Staging Area and the Card Pool. There is also the Discard Pile and Character Area, but their location on the board is more relaxed. The Card Pool is where you play your cards. Once you end your turns, your cards move down to the Staging Area.

To begin the game, you need to play a Character Card. This card decides your maximum health, how many cards you draw, and what cards you can have in your deck. You will find three emblems at the bottom left-hand side of the Character Card. To be able to play a card, it must share at least one of the same emblems.

Even with healing, your health pool can never exceed the number on the Character Card.

The goal of the game is to reduce your opponent's life to zero. You accomplish that goal by attacking the player in the combat phase. Neither player can attack during their first turn. The game ends when either player's health is reduced to zero.

The Start Phase


The game begins in the Start Phase. First, Committed cards are back to their normal position. Committed is the term the game uses when you turn your cards sideways after using an ability.

Then draw as many cards as the Character allows on the Character Card. If you have two cards in your hand and your Character Card has a six for its hand, you draw four cards.

Finally, you can discard a card and draw one card to replace it once per turn. The player who goes first cannot discard at the start of the game. However, you're encouraged to try to have the right hand, so be bold and discard cards you do not need.

Card Types

MHA CCG: Shock Absorption

The game has four card types, ignoring the Character Card: Foundation Cards, Attack Cards, Action Cards, and Asset Cards. Your deck will mostly contain Foundation Cards and Attack Cards.

  • Foundation cards are designed to help you make it easier to play other cards and attack, which is why they should be the majority of your deck.
  • Asset cards are like Foundation Cards but cannot be Committed to Difficulty Checks.
  • Action Cards are one-time-use cards.
      • Asset Cards and Actions Cards are rare, but depending on your deck, they could be helpful.

The Difficulty Check

MHA CCG: Tres Chic Cape

Cards in the My Hero Academia CCG have two large numbers: an orange number on the top left, the Difficulty, and a blue number on the bottom right, the Control.

To play any card, you have to pass the Difficulty Check. That is when you draw a card from your deck, and if the Control number is higher than the Difficulty, you can play that card. Cards used for a check are placed in the discard pile. You can Commit a Foundation Card to add one to your Control. Once a card is Committed, its effects cannot be activated until it is restored during your next start phase. If you fail that check, the card you played is discarded, and your turn ends.

As long as you pass the Difficulty Check, you can play as many cards as you want, but there is Progressive Difficulty. When you play another card, you add the number of cards played to the Difficulty Check. For example, on playing your third card, you must pass the card's Difficulty plus two.

When your turn ends, Foundation Cards that passed the check go to the Staging Area, where their effects can be used.

Attack Cards

MHA CCG: Tongue Whip

The game is designed to create a unique battle experience for the players, so Attack Cards carry a lot of information. There are three major things on an Attack Card: Damage, Speed, and Zone. Damage and Speed are significant to successfully attacking, and the Zone determines where the opponent must block an attack.

  • Damage is simple. It is how much damage your attack will do, and damage is present in the yellow burst shape on the right side.
  • Speed shows how difficult it is to block your attack, found in the circle above damage.
  • Zone is where the attack takes place (Low, Medium, and High). The Zone is shown by the arrows and is colored in the circle of Speed. Low is Yellow, Orange is Medium, and Red is High.

When your turn ends, Attack Cards can go to the discard pile or face down under your Character Card. Under your Character Card, these cards can be spent to activate effects called Momentum.

The Attack Sequence

MHA CCG: Go Beyond

When you pass the Difficulty Check for an Attack Card, start the Enhance Step. The two players Commit their cards to boost their Speed and Damage. You can use all cards in your Staging Area, the current attack card, and the Character Card.

The Enhance Step is a back-and-forth sequence with the Attacker selecting an Enhance first. Either player can choose to pass their turn, but that does not stop the other player from Enhancing until they are satisfied.

Enhancing can come at a cost other than Committing, and you may have to flip a card. Flipping a card in the Staging Area loses all abilities but can still be used to Commit to a Difficulty Check .

You will find that some cards have a Response. Responses have a condition that must be met before their effect can be activated and with additional cost. Responses can happen more than once, as long as the card is not Committed. Their effects do not Commit the Card when used.

After the Enhance step, we move on to the next step: Blocking.

Blocking An Attack

MHA CCG: Classmate Introduction

Blocking is a vital component of the game. When you are up against an opponent with many cards in their Staging Area, debuffing an attack will not help you much. Blocking can protect you from damage if you pass the Difficulty Check.

The Block Step goes after the Enhance Step and plays as follows:

  1. Play a Card from your hand to block with
  2. Draw for a Difficulty Check
  3. Determine Damage

In the top right of a card, you will find a shield icon with a number and a color. The color shows which Zone you are blocking. The number in the shield icon plus the Speed of the opponent's attack is the Difficulty Check you must pass. You are also able to Commit Foundation Cards to help pass the check.

To completely block an attack, you must Block in the same zone as the attack. If you are one Zone away, you take half damage, rounding up. When you are two spaces away, the block fails. A low block cannot guard a high attack. If you pass the check and block in the correct Zone, you successfully block the attack.

Failing to attack does not end the turn ; you or your opponent can attack again with another Card.


Embark on a heroic journey in the My Hero Academia Card Game universe. Master quirk tactics, build powerful decks, and become the ultimate hero!